Providence College

Providence Rhode Island may be the coolest town you never hear about.  At least I never hear anything about it.  I visited Providence College having never heard a thing about it before. that was some time ago and I haven’t heard a thing about it since.
walking campus

Our modern TMZ society would assume that this lack of buzz means there is nothing there worth knowing about. I would just ask that anyone who may think this way should please explain to me the details about how the internet actually works.

How does what I clickety-clack on my keyboard wherever I am, get to your eyes in wherever you are? I never hear anything about that but I am glad someone knows how to make it happen.

Such is Providence College… kind-of.
angel statue

You probably haven’t heard of the “Friars”, because the student body is mostly local. They are so local in fact that the Princeton Review deemed Providence the most homogeneous student body in the country. What this means is that unless you fit a specific description, you likely don’t know anyone who went there.

Though you may have at least heard of some of them: Chris Dodd, Pat Kennedy, or Richard Daley.glass building

Providence College requires all students to take an expanded program in the development of western civilization. This is two years, 5 days a week, and everyone takes it. The courses are all taught by full professors and the program has its own dedicated building.

I like that. Or rather I would have liked that had I known about it when I was a potential undergrad.clock

What I may not have liked is the school’s national number one ranking in consumption of hard liquor.

So the school, unlike the city, is not for everyone, but if you are the right specific someone, it is fantastic.

One thought on “Providence College

Leave a comment