A Tie is Not Just a Tie: it has to be a somewhat specific tie

My wardrobe is completely missing one of the basics. A very basic basic, which for me, a basic guy, is both sad and a little surprising. I wear ties semi-regularly, probably three times per week. I am not opposed to ties in general, though I am very opposed to many ties specifically. Not any old tie will do, though many old ties are perfect, as age is not the specifier.

There are rules for these sorts of things. At least there are for me, which is why this specific sartorial gap is a personal shame. I should fix this , but since this is “the season” maybe some advice. When giving neck-ware as a gift, one should know the rules or forever be doomed to the back of the closet in sit-com fodder fashion.lanvin-white-pin-dot-tie-product-1-4273713-026052035

I do not own a single pin-dot tie. Sad.

Polka dots are not for me, they are not the same thing. not at all.

I have striped ties. I mostly prefer stripes of two alternating colors, three at the most, but mostly two. And they should be thick/rep stripes, not pin stripes.photo(6)

Club ties are great, as long as they represent a club or organization you are actually connected to.

Solid colors always work.

No paisley.images

No characters, caricatures, or complex designs/patterns. Just no.

Plaid is good, preferably in a tartan that has some meaning.

These are not THE rules, they are just my rules.

As to the pin dots, they are to all be the same color. As in the tie is one color, and all of the dots are a different color, but not the same color as the tie.

I was once given a very generous and thoughtful gift of a tie. This person knew I wore ties but knew nothing of ties on their own. I was flattered by the thought but only once could I bring myself to put that thing around my neck and only then because it was under a sweater. Because really, why would I want to wear a picture of Winnie the Pooh around my neck?IMG_9513

Pin dots. Period.

1 Comment

Filed under style

One response to “A Tie is Not Just a Tie: it has to be a somewhat specific tie

  1. My favorite tie is one little guy is now wearing – with TAZ the tazmanian devil on it.

Leave a Reply

