Wellesley

I first heard of Wellesley on an episode of the Simpsons. It was Lisa’s school of choice. She knew what she was talking about but I was clueless.I have visited all of the ivys, the ancient 8, and quite a few community colleges. Wellesley wins.The campus felt peaceful and smart. That is not how I remembered college the first time I went. It seemed smart like a secluded monastery dedicated to the translation of ancient texts would feel. Or so I imagine.The buildings were collegiate gothic, old English ala Stratford-upon-Avon, or sleek modern. Maybe it was the trees and manicured lawns that pulled them all together, but it worked. Like I said, Wellesley wins.The place is an all women’s college yet as I walked and wandered no one took notice of me. I was seen but no one acted as if I was out of place. I’m not sure what that means.Maybe it was the lack of the gym short wearing, “dude this is college”, set that had me contemplating selling a kidney to send my daughters here. Whatever it was, I drank it.

5 Comments

Filed under places

5 responses to “Wellesley

  1. Brendan

    Dalyn, if you’re in Mass. now you still have time to make Brent Whitley’s boxing class with me tonight at 8 here: http://www.linkbjj.com. I have extra gloves for for ya’! Sityodtong in Boston is great too. Take it easy – Brendan

  2. Natalie

    Ahhh… this post makes my heart go pitter-pat. And that college campus made my heart sing the first day I walked to class. And it still makes my heart sigh happily.

    And you won’t have to sell a kidney to get your girls there. Don’t worry about that. They are brilliant and talented and active… they’ll get scholarships without a doubt.

    Non Ministrari sed Ministrare!

  3. One of our good friends here in San Diego went there. She had a full ride due to grants and scholarships. Keep your kidney. They’ll make it there just fine 🙂

Leave a Reply

