Riding Side-Saddle on Socio-Economics

Contemplating something near Lexington, NC.

Some unfortunate side effects of solo hours in a vehicle are the degradation of verbal skills and mental tangents.  If you want a demonstration of the previous just call on me once I return from 5 days driving and laugh as I stumble over pronunciations, search my mind’s vocabulary for simple conjunctions, and most of all stare in amusement as I scramble to express a weeks worth of stored up ideas.

For an example of the latter; I decided that my desires for my children’s future financial status can best be described through a metaphor, or a simile, or a movie, but not a Lifetime movie.

If the middle class is the workhorse of the American economy, I hope that one day my girls will learn to ride side-saddle.  It must be said that I have no idea how to actually ride in this manner but am confident I can find an instructor.  An instructor for them, not for me.

I will spend my life riding western.  I will have one leg stirruped solidly in the lower class, one reaching for the upper, all the while seated firmly on the back of the middle.  Riding western, with saddle bags packed, a large utilitarian horn, some adornments stamped onto the leather, and maybe silver buckles.

Is that phone ringing? Should I answer it?

I mounted from the left early on.  Not really poor, but with no real view of the other side.  It was a tall horse.  I’ve gotten off and on from time to time, but always to the left.  I have in fact been bucked off a horse, been bit by a horse, even had one stand on my foot till I punched it in the ribs.  My punch was ineffective and the horse did not lift its hoof till it got bored.  When the ride got wild you never know in what direction, which side of the horse, you will fall too.  You simply hang on for dear life and hope for the best.  No matter what your purpose, riding western is really meant for work.  You can have a nice view, go fast, slow, and over any terrain.

I want my girls to learn side-saddle.  More specifically I want them to ride with both legs to the right.  Is this how its done?  I don’t know or care (being western), but that’s how I want them to do it. 

I want my girls to ride froma position that implies propriety but still allows them the adventure that horseback entails.  I want them to be able to reach down to the left.  To be useful.  To be productive.  No retreating to the comfort and protection of the carriage where your hair never gets wet and you don’t get all dusty.  I want them to experience, to work, and to serve. If the ride does get too rough, if they get thrown from the horse, I want to make sure they fall into comfort and safety.  I want to make as sure as possible, they fall to the right.

       “Turn left in 100 feet… recalculating.”

Was that?… Man, I missed my exit again.  Ooh look, cows!

(1 week in a car, imagine a year in solitary.  Is it more interesting that I thought this or that I typed it?)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Riding Side-Saddle on Socio-Economics

  1. I gotta’ steal this one.
    Nice metaphor.

  2. Corbie

    Love the metaphor…

    …not loving that I have so little time for blogging that by the time I make it here, you’ve documented a life’s worth of travels.

    I will get back on the metaphorical blogging horse very soon…or at least the metaphorical blog-reading horse.

  3. hmm. When riding sidesaddle you are only able to use one foot to cure the horse and must carry an aid such as a whip to prompt the horse, you need special longer reins. You do not have full use of both legs to lessen the impact of a trot or to keep yourself from falling off the horse when it bucks. Most women were required to ride side saddle in order to be “proper.” In other words, they were handicapped for image and propriety sake.

    I like the metaphor until you actually think about the Victorian side/saddle view of women.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

