Indulgence in the City

I sold the van.

On Monday I will be tucked cozily into a cubicle at a “respectable” job.  Nine to five, Monday through Friday, forty minute commute; I will be one of “them.”

This is just one step in a larger plan.

Yesterday, my plan was to make like Napoleon (Dynamite not Bonaparte) and do what ever I want.  Had my wife granted herself her own day she probably would have spent it in some family activity focused on the children.  I wish I was, but am not, that selfless.  I boarded a bus and went to the city.

Most apples have cores, this one has a heart.

I travel better by myself.  No worrying about if others are bored while I am entertained.  No ticking from the time bomb built-in to all children; just me and my own fancy.

Journey from the depths to Celestial heights.

I will spend the foreseeable future constrained by schedule, on this trip I defied planning and let whimsy be my guide.  Except for that one appointment in the afternoon, the bus schedule, and a budget.  I am not very good at whimsy.

He was surprisingly good.

The temple, a museum, and a library; look out I’m out of control.  Some time earlier I dropped my camera and lost the ability to see the images on the camera.  I now shoot from the hip.

He sat as if he was part of the architecture.

Perhaps it is my appreciation for the honorable Robert Nesta, but finding myself in a room filled with third century books of scripture, I spent my time squinting at Coptic writing from Ethiopia.

Europeans colonizing Africa in the name of converting the heathen were surprised to find Ethiopia already Christian.

Television tells of our society being in decline.  We are taught to fear urban centers and the youth therein as dangerous.  Public libraries, full of common folk, encourage me to turn the television off.

The library where I grew up looked nothing like this.

The internet puts the whole world at our fingertips.  The East Coast puts a good portion of the world available for personal visits.

Hollister Hovey. More on our visit is to come. http://hollisterhovey.blogspot.com

Ms. Hovey gives good dinner advice.  After our meeting I moved on.  I have no shame and do not find dining alone in any way awkward.  The conversation is of course lacking but the company is always top-notch.  On this occasion so was the food.

Burger with bleu and sweet potato fries.

Day trips to places that aren’t your home, traveling alone, get tiring by the end of the day.  I love New York at night but the excitement of it is lost when there is no one with which to share, or when your knees hurt and the only place to rest requires a purchase.

The Skylight gets 1/2 of a star from my stomach, five stars from my knees.

Had I a van I would retire to the hammock.  But isn’t this the city they say never sleeps?  I suppose the city wanted company as much as I did.

Wonder if they would like a freelance writer?

3 Comments

Filed under events, places

3 responses to “Indulgence in the City

  1. desertflower

    I like your stories and your style. Best of luck with the 9 to 5!

  2. Wow! Congratulations are in order (I hope.) Remember to keep up the art and the blog both. It will continue to be a good outlet. I’m also curious to follow your observations on corporate life. Strange tribe, but interesting like all.

    As we used to say before a big pitch: Eat the wounded!
    C

  3. I agree with E, I think you’d make some insightful observations from the cubicle.
    -Kay

Leave a Reply

